Eggplant Parmesan Experiment

Standard

Finally got the time to post another recipe 🙂 a new one at that. I have never before cooked eggplant. I actually tried eggplant for the first time a couple of months ago! For some reason it just never appealed to me. I am happy to say I now like eggplant… well anyways back to my eggplant recipe experiment. I starting looking online for recipe ideas… I found a couple but nothing that just really stood out. So I just combined a few and created my own Eggplant Parmesan version. Here it goes!

Ingredients

serving size: 1 (big hearty portion size)

3 eggplant slices
roughly 1/4 – 1/2 cup almond flour
1 egg
1/4lb of meat (I choose ground beef but it would taste awesome with ground sausage too)
1 small can tomato sauce
veggies! (I put a mushroom, small tomato, swish chard leaf, couple of diced slices of zucchini in mine but you can add whatever you got in the frig. I have found that squashes go good with Italian style recipes)
rosemary (fresh or dry)
Italian seasoning
salt
pepper
garlic clove
slice of diced onion
olive oil
coconut oil
goat cheese (optional)

First you want to prep all your veggies. Cut them into small cubes.

Next you want to prep your coating for the eggplant. You will need two bowls. 1 for your dry ingredients and 1 for the egg wash. In the dry ingredients just add your rosemary, salt, pepper, Italian seasoning and of course the almond flour. In the egg wash bowl just simply whisk the egg till blended.

Now your going to pat your eggplant slices in the coating mix and then dip it in the egg wash and then pat it back into the coating mix. Your eggplant slices are ready for pan frying!

Before we pan fry our eggplant slices lets start the sauce. In another pan, put a little olive oil in it and saute your veggies. Throw in the garlic and onion first. Let that saute for a couple of minutes then add in your other veggies. After a couple more minutes throw in the meat. Let the meat cook fully then add your tomato sauce.  Reduce heat and simmer. Add some more Italian seasoning, salt and pepper if you like.

Now it’s time to fry those eggplant slices! Put in a couple of heaping tablespoons of

coconut oil another pan. Let it melt then add your slices. I didn’t really time this part. I just used my best judgement. About 8 mins. on each side. Now I added some goat cheese on the top of my slices before I flipped them. This created a cheesy crust when done. This is optional.

All you have left is to put all this goodness together into one big pile of uber goodness. All you do now is stack the eggplant slices and put the meaty sauce mixture in between. Any left over mixture just add around the sides. You’ll definitely be eating it later. Then walla you have a 5 star looking eggplant parmesan and a healthy one too! So enjoy guilt free!

Leave a Reply

